Assemblymember Jim Frazier Named Chair of Assembly Committee on Transportation

Thursday, December 4, 2014

Sacramento, CA – Today, Assemblymember Jim Frazier (D – Oakley) was appointed by Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins (D – San Diego) to Chair the Assembly Committee on Transportation for the 2015-16 legislative session. 

“I am honored to be selected by Speaker Atkins as Chair of the Assembly Committee on Transportation,” said Assemblymember Frazier. “During my time in the legislature, I have worked diligently at the state and local level to bring transportation issues to the forefront. I look forward to working with my colleagues, constituents and transportation advocates to develop innovative strategies that will help enhance traffic safety, improve highway infrastructure and restore funding for critically needed projects in California.”

Assemblymember Frazier brings an extensive history of transportation experience to his new position as Chair. As Mayor of Oakley, he delivered $83,000,000 for Highway 4 Bypass improvements, creating 1,400 new jobs; $50,000,000 to fund Highway 160 improvements, creating 700 new jobs; and $33,000,000 to fund the Sand Creek Interchange. Frazier previously served as Chair to TRANSPLAN and the State Route 4 Bypass Authority, and served as a member on the Contra Costa Transportation Authority’s Citizen Advisory Committee.

“California, especially Contra Costa, is extremely fortunate to have Assemblymember Frazier as the new Chair of the Assembly Committee on Transportation,” said Randy Iwasaki, Executive Director of the Contra Costa Transportation Authority and former Director of Caltrans. “His unwavering commitment to improving safety, efficiency and performance will help move our transportation system into the 21st century and restore California’s prestige as a leader in transportation innovation.”

Assemblymember Frazier served as a member of the Assembly Committee on Transportation for two years prior to being appointed as Chair. His legislative career has focused on addressing top priority transportation issues, including the advancement of infrastructure projects, advocating for vital infrastructure funding and raising public awareness surrounding roadway safety.  He has also hosted several traffic safety events in his District, including CHP car seat safety checks, informational presentations, safety route meetings and driver safety education courses for teens and senior citizens.

"Assemblymember Jim Frazier's appointment as Chair of Assembly Committee on Transportation is welcome news for transportation in California,” said Daryl Halls, Executive Director of Solano Transportation Authority. “He combines an extensive knowledge of California's transportation issues and challenges, and will roll up his sleeves to make a difference.  Assemblymember Frazier has a proven track record of asking the right questions that need to be asked, and his appointment sends a strong message that the Assembly will continue to invest in California's transportation infrastructure to provide needed jobs, move freight and improve travel safety." 

The Assembly Committee on Transportation maintains jurisdiction over the following issue areas: Transit Authority, California Highway Patrol, vehicles, aircraft, and vessels; operation, licensing and registration and driver’s licenses.

CONTACT: Amy Warshauer, 916-319-2011,