Assemblymember Frazier Passes Legislation to Support COVID-19 Emergency Special Education Services And Voluntary Alternative Dispute Resolution Across the State


SACRAMENTO, CA – Yesterday Assemblymember Jim Frazier (D-Fairfield), with the help of hundreds of supporters, passed AB 967 out of the Assembly Education Committee.

Assemblymember Frazier’s bill establishes the COVID-19 Special Education Fund in the State Treasury and requires the Department of Education (CDE) to provide matching funds to local educational agencies (LEAs) to help prevent special education disputes, offer voluntary alternative dispute resolution (ADR) processes, and deliver services related to COVID19 school disruptions ADR. AB 967 will also require LEAs to conduct outreach to families facing language and other barriers to special education processes, require good faith efforts to reach agreements through voluntary ADR within 60 days at no cost to families and involve special education local plan areas (SELPAs) or Family Empowerment Centers in the ADR process. Finally, AB 967 will require LEAs to submit the application for funding to their SELPA for verification and submission to CDE.

“This is a groundbreaking bill,” said Assemblymember Frazier.  “With AB 967, we are creating support and aid for everyone involved. From educators to the families of students with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDDs), this bill is a huge win!”

AB 967 will deliver historic investments in dispute resolution processes with a proven track record of preventing and resolving disputes in an equitable and cost-effective manner. AB 967 requires LEAs to confront inequity by conducting outreach to families who are typically left out of the process and unable to access their due process rights. AB 967 also creates accountability and enhances family support by including SELPAs, CDE, and Family Empowerment Centers throughout the process.

“As with all great things,” continued Assemblymember Frazier. “this bill would not have been possible without the support of countless families, committees, school districts, and local leaders who worked together to ensure this bill would pass.”

While this is not a complete list, AB 967 has had an abundance of support from across the state and it is important to recognize the efforts of these supporters. Supporters: Alliance for Children's Rights (co-sponsor), Coalition for Adequate Funding for Special Education (co-sponsor), SELPA Administrators of California (co-sponsor), Achieve Kids, Alameda Unified School District, Alta Public Schools, Antelope Valley Union High School District, Atascadero Unified School District, Bakersfield City Elementary SELPA, Beaumont Unified School District, Beverly Hills Unified School District, Big Sur Charter School, Bonsall Unified School District, Butte County SELPA, Cabrillo Unified School District, California Association of Private Special Education Schools,  California Association of School Business Officials, California Charter Schools Association, California Retired Teachers Association, California School Funding Coalition, Cardiff School District, Castro Valley Unified School District, Antelope Elementary School District, Carlsbad Unified School District, Cayucos Elementary School District, Central Valley Education Coalition, Children Now, Clovis Unified School District, Coast Unified School District, Community Advisory Committee Leadership Collaborative for Special Education, Corona Norco Unified School District, Cuddeback Union Elementary School District, Culver City Unified School District, Del Mar Union School District, Dixon Unified School District, East San Gabriel Valley SELPA, East San Gabriel Valley SELPA Community Advisory Committee, East Valley SELPA, Encinitas Union School District, Evergreen Union School District, Fairfield-Suisun Unified School District, Family Resource Navigators, Fieldbrook Elementary School District, Foothill SELPA, Fortuna Elementary School District, Fortuna Union High School District, Freshwater School District, Fresno County SELPA, Gerber Union Elementary School, Greater Anaheim SELPA, Griffin Technology Academies, Hawthorne School District, Horicon Elementary School District, Humboldt - Del Norte SELPA, Humboldt County Office of Education, Inglewood Unified School District, Irvine Unified School District, Jacoby Creek School District, Jurupa Unified School District, King City Union School District, Lammersville Unified School District, Lancaster School District, Las Virgenes Unified School District, Lassen View Union Elementary School District, Lompoc Unified School District, Long Beach Unified School District, Los Angeles County Charter SELPA, Los Angeles County Superintendent of Schools, Mid-Alameda County SELPA, Mid-cities SELPA, Moreno Valley Unified School District, North Coastal SELPA, North Orange County SELPA, North Region SELPA, Oceanside Unified School District, Orange Unified School District, Pacific Union School District, Pacific View Charter School 2.0, Palmdale School District, Palo Verde Unified School District, Pathways Charter School, Perris Union High School District, Red Bluff Joint Union High School District, Red Bluff Union Elementary School District, Reeds Creek Elementary School District, Riverside County Public K-12 School District Superintendents, Riverside County SELPA, Riverside County Superintendent of Schools, Romoland School District, Saheli Arbitration/Mediation, San Diego Unified School District, San Joaquin County SELPA, San Lucas Union Elementary School District, San Luis Obispo County Office of Education, San Luis Obispo County SELPA District, San Marcos Unified School District, San Mateo County SELPA, San Mateo Foster City School District, Santa Barbara County SELPA, Santa Clarita Valley SELPA, Santa Cruz County Office of Education, Santa Rosa City Schools, Scotia Union School District, Sequoia Union High School District, Shandon Joint Unified School District, Solano County SELPA, Sonoma County Office of Education, Sonoma County SELPA, Sonoma SELPA Community Advisory Committee Soquel Union Elementary School District, South East Consortium SELPA, Southwest SELPA, SELPA 1 of Santa Clara County Community Advisory Committee, Stockton City Unified SELPA, Tehama County Department of Education, Tehama County SELPA, Torrance Unified School District, Travis Unified School District, Tri-city SELPA, Tustin Unified School District, Vacaville Unified School District, Vallejo City Unified School District, Ventura County SELPA, Voices College Bound Language Academies, West Contra Costa Unified School District SELPA, Westside Union School District, Wilmar Union School District, Wiseburn Unified School District, Yolo County SELPA, Yuba County SELPA, and Several families.